Help on gist script

Hello,

I am the beginner with API Materials and I am not good at coding. I have just started to learn with MP tutorial videos. I have just follow the website to install Conda and then Pymatgen http://pymatgen.org/installation.html#step-3-install-pymatgen

After finish, I have tried with some examples from Gisthub but I am not sucessful

I am using Python to run this. However, in Python, I only can type one by one command sentence. I don’t know how to run pymatgen in the right way as shown in Tutorial video # 7:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zhLwfuaBNiY&t=0s&index=7&list=PLTjFYVNE7LTjHJwV994iQHS-bIkh3UXKJ (where to type “vi scartch”???, it looks not Python)

Please help me.

Thanks a lot in advance.

Mod edit: post was moved from previous topic since it was unrelated to installation

Hi ThuyTran,

The text you’ve linked comprises a python script, which is a text file that contains a series of python commands to be executed in sequence. You can use any text editor (vi from the video is a text editor) to copy/paste and edit the text you’ve linked and then type python oxidative_stability.py at the command line, which tells the python interpreter that you want to run all of the commands in the script.

If you’re not too keen on using text editors, you might consider using jupyter notebooks instead, which will enable you to type and edit multiple python commands in “cells” and execute them in sequence.

Feel free to follow up with further questions.

1 Like

Dear Joseph Montoya,

Thank you for your kind reply. I have installed “jupyter notebook” and tried to use it with some simple calculation. It works well.

However, when I copy the following content https://gist.github.com/computron/939af8c774a7737f0d5f69401722454f
into the input file (also change my API key), and press “Shift+Enter” it shows that:

"---------------------------------------------------------------------------
ModuleNotFoundError Traceback (most recent call last)
in ()